Saturday Evening Child Initiated Play

In my opinion, there’s nothing better than child initiated play – it shows no end of imagination and creativity – and when the age groups are mixed, it’s even more wonderful.

We had friends to dinner last night, and while the little ones were busying themselves, and us grown-ups were chatting and drinking wine (not the pregnant ones among us I add!), the older kids were setting up the following – and it brought a big smile to my face!

It may not look like much, but I just love to capture these moments. I love the use of the Klutz building cards for beds, and used to build the stairs up to the King and Queen’s bedroom. I love the wizard guarding the ‘castle’, and the rolled up balls of paper (presumably for the use of the catapult). And I especially love the use of the big cardboard building blocks for a castle.

I’m not sure whether this was inspired by ‘Harry Potter’ which I have recently been reading to Leon and Maya, but I think it’s so fantastic that a 6, 7 and 9 year old can still have the imagination to play in this way. I suspect the play would have continued, and gone in to detail, but the clock was ticking and it was time to go home, so we had to stop the play – the greatest sin of all!

Leave a Reply

