My Blog Is Suffering!

Yes, you can probably tell.

My blog is suffering…..

The baby was due yesterday, and in the last week or so my body has slowed down. My head is spinning with ideas, but physically I seem to be getting very little together! 🙂

So, for those of you who have got to know my oldest ‘babies’, I’d like to introduce you to their latest hobby – horse riding. A couple of months ago Leon’s friend asked him to join him in a riding class. Leon, who had never plucked up the courage to go near a horse, let alone ride one, panicked, “No, no, I shall never do that! Ring his parents and tell them no!”  I started to laugh at his nervousness, and he started to laugh in turn at his own nervousness. ” Talk to him about it tomorrow at school. You don’t have to do anything you don’t want to” I said. When he came home from school the next day I asked, “Did you talk to Rasmus?” Leon replied “Yes. I said yes. They’ll pick me up at 4.30”

Imagine my surprise! So that day he came home at 8pm, having ridden for a few hours – “Was it fun?” I asked. “Yes! I’d like to start straight away!” he replied.

And so for the last few months Leon has been riding every Wednesday afternoon – and absolutely loves it!

This photo is a little out of focus, but the joy on his face is ‘worth every pixel’!

And of course, leon couldn’t start riding lessons without Maya – the girl who has been begging to ride for a few years now….

Despite being only 6 years old, and most riding schools in Sweden having 7 as the age of starting these classes, this is not a normal riding school. It is more of a ‘parent cooperative’ run by enthusiasts – a farm, where parents help out with the skills they have. The farm has chickens for eggs, is getting goats for milk, as well as ducks for eggs – and everyone helps with the building of the duck pond, the building of the chicken coops, and the care of the animals. Most importantly, the little riders help with the care of the horses – brushing them, cleaning their hooves, mucking out their stables and polishing their saddles and reins.

As you can see (in the slightly unfocused photo), Maya is pretty small next to her horse, and finds these tasks quite daunting!

But I’m guessing the riding on the horse will make up for this!?

And so that’s us for now!

I will attempt to continue my posts over the next few weeks – but my body will make the decisions!

5 thoughts on “My Blog Is Suffering!

  1. Hej!
    Åh snart är det dags!!! Spännande! Hur mår du? Hur mår familjen?

    Vi har varit och e ff sjuka, det har hållit på i snart 3 veckor 😦 Öron inflammation, halsfluss…. Puh!

    Är det Skutan ni varit på? Där bodde jag som barn 🙂

    Kram Anna

  2. Hang in there! You have been a trooper, blogging as much as you have been with three kids and another on the way. I hope baby arrives soon and safely.

    All the best,
    Chelsea

  3. Pingback: Meet My Kids! « Squashed Tomatoes

Leave a Reply

