Fun With ‘The Gingerbread Man’

Gingerbread is BIG in Sweden over the winter season, usually coming from a ‘pepparkaks deg’ (gingerbread dough) you can buy ready made in the shops.

We had some gingerbread dough left over, and this story, presently a popular one with Alfie, led us to make a gingerbread man and his gang!

 

Once upon a time a little old lady and a little old man baked a gingerbread man. They were eager to eat him, but when they opened the oven, out the gingerbread man popped, and said "Ha ha ha, hee, hee, hee, I'm the gingerbread man and you can't catch me!" and ran away...

 

The gingerbread man came across a school teacher and her children. "Oooh, you look good to eat" they said. But the gingerbread man said "Ha ha ha , hee hee hee, I'm the gingerbread man and you can't catch me!" and he ran off.

 

Then he came across a bear. "Yum, I'd like to eat you!" he said. But the gingerbread man said " Ha ha ha, hee hee hee, I'm the gingerbread man and you can't catch me!" and he ran off.

 

He came across a lion, who licked his lips at the sight of the gingerbread man, who said "Ha ha ha, hee hee hee, I'm the gingerbread man and you can't catch me!" and he ran off.

He came across a camel, who stopped and stared when he saw the gingerbread man - who said "Ha ha ha, hee, hee, hee I'm the gingerbread man and you can't catch me!" and ran off.

 

He came across a crocodile, and before the crocodile could speak he said "Ha ha ha, hee, hee, hee, I'm the gingerbread man and you can't catch me!". But the crocodile said "Oh, I don't want to catch you - but if you don't get across that river you WILL get caught - why don't you get on to my tail and I'll carry you across?"

 

And so the gingerbread man climbed up on to the crocodile's tail and proceeded to get a ride across the river...

 

"The water is getting deeper, you should climb up on to my back" said the crocodile - and the gingerbread man did..

 

"The water is getting even deeper - you should climb up on to my nose" said the crocodile. And so the gingerbread man did.

And in a flash, the crocodile tossed the gingerbread man up in to the air - and THAT was the end of the gingerbread man!

Leave a Reply

